Top 5 Country Ballads: #5 Luke Bryan-“Drink a Beer”

It is a challenging time of year to be a sports fan, unless you are in to regular season college basketball or NASCAR. I enjoy both, but I thought this time of year would be a good time to do something different. My next series of posts will be about another passion of mine, country music. I have decided to rank my top 5 country ballads. These may not be the most well-known songs ever. This is only my rankings and favorites. However, all but one of my choices were released as singles to country radio and are fairly well known Also, these are not the happiest songs in the world. However, I’ve always been drawn to sad songs. I like songs that made me think and are realistic.

 

So, let’s start the countdown off. My choice for number 5 will shock my readers who know me. I make no secret of the fact that I am not thrilled with modern-day country music. I feel it has strayed too far from its roots. It bothers me what artists like Luke Bryan and Florida Georgia Line have done with the genre, but this song is a major exception. That being said, my #5 choice is “Drink a Beer by Luke Bryan.

From a musical standpoint, this is fairly traditional country, which I like. More important though, it is the kind of song everyone can relate to. We have all lost someone close to us. Often times in any relationship, it is the simple memories that mean the most. The song illustrates that well. For me, this song hits home in two ways. First off, I graduated high school in 2011. We have already lost three members of my graduating class unexpectedly. Also, since I graduated high school I have lost many friends not to death, but simply to the cold hard facts of life. I graduated with 716 kids. We all went our own way after high school. While I am still close to my best friends from those days, the unfortunate reality is there are people from those days I will never see again. So, to that group of people and the three lives already lost in my graduating class. This one is for you. Hats off to songwriters Chris Stapleton and Jim Beavers for great song that hit #1 and makes me smile and cry all at the same time. Luke Bryan was the perfect guy for this song. Be sure to check back Monday for my #4 country ballad.

Leave a Reply

